Member Profile – Liz Caron

Daytona Beach, Fla. --12/02/09--Liz Janangelo at No. 1 during Wednesday's round of LPGA Qualifying School on the Legends Course in Daytona Beach, Fla.--(Photo by Tracy Wilcox/GOLFWEEK)
Daytona Beach, Fla. –12/02/09–Liz Janangelo at No. 1 during Wednesday’s round of LPGA Qualifying School on the Legends Course in Daytona Beach, Fla.–(Photo by Tracy Wilcox/GOLFWEEK)

How did you get into golf?

I started playing golf around 3 years old. My older brother, John, and my dad loved the game, and I followed in their footsteps. Golf was our family activity. My mom isn’t a golfer, but she would always do whatever she could to help—from driving me to the course to practice to making me snacks for tournaments. The best part about golf is that it is a family activity. Now with my husband, Jason, and our two-year-old, Caroline, I can see how special the game truly is because it is something we can do together.

What was your experience at the KPMG PGA Women’s Championship like?

The KPMG PGA Women’s Championship was amazing. It was so enjoyable to be back inside the ropes for a week. All the players were surprised to see me there—in a good way. It made me realize how much I enjoy teaching and helping others. Playing competitively is so much fun and being able to compete against the greatest players in the world is an incredible opportunity. But so is helping someone with their golf swing and seeing the big smile they get on their face when they hit a great golf shot. I cannot wait for next year’s event or, at least, the opportunity to qualify in Orlando.

Liz Caron KPMG RangeBased on your experience at Westchester CC, what is you opinion on the state of the LPGA Tour and women’s golf in general?

The LPGA is in a great place. The feedback from the fans and corporate sponsors was so positive. I stopped playing in 2010, and Mike Whan and the players have really turned the Tour around. From less than 22 events a year to a full schedule is something to be proud of and to continue to build upon. The girls are great players and people, and the fans and sponsors will continue to gravitate, and the Tour will continue to flourish.

Tell us something about the KPMG PGA Women’s Championship that someone who did not play in the event would not know; something that impressed or surprised you.

The kindness of the players. I hadn’t been out on tour for 5 plus years and everyone was so welcoming. Since then, we welcomed a little one into our lives. Everyone wanted to see her and was so happy for my husband and me. Morgan Pressel and Michelle Wie, to name a few, were so kind and happy to see my family and me. It made me realize that I have always been a good friend and competitor even though my passion has shifted to teaching.

Liz Caron KPMGIs there something you have learned from playing in 10 LPGA Major Championships, on the Symetra Tour, and for Duke that you use in your daily life as a Professional?

It’s taken me a long time, but I have realized two important things. Golf is what I do, not what I am, as well as to be proud of what I have accomplished. For so many years, I tried not to play down my accomplishments as if they came easy with little work. But now, being a mom, wife, and daughter, I am proud of what I have done. It wasn’t easy and took so much hard work, so it’s okay to smile, be proud, and say thank you when someone congratulates you on an accomplishment.

Why are you an LPGA T&CP Member?

I am a member of the T&CP because the people who I admire and respect are members. Cindy Miller and Angela Aulenti have been hugely kind and helpful to me for many years, and I wanted to follow in their footsteps to be a member of the T&Cp. In the Met Section, there are so many terrific teachers and golf professionals. I took their advice and went the route of the T&CP. The friendships and relationships that have been built through seminars, summits, and events will last a lifetime. I am so grateful to be a member of a community with strong ties and wonderful members.

What would you like to see for yourself and the T&CP in the future?

I would like to continue to grow as a teacher and golf professional through educational opportunities. The T&CP already does an excellent job with its seminars in the metro area, and I look forward to watching the opportunities as well as the membership grow.

Leave a Reply

