Did You Know? – Shelly Haywood

Jill of all trades, Class A Member, Shelly Haywood has three loves: Golf, Photography, and Mid-century Modern Furniture . . .

1

Shelly’s Photography

“When I was named the 2005 LPGA Coach of The Year, I felt like I was on top of the world.  But you can’t stay there forever and after leaving Arizona, I wanted to follow my other passion of opening a business.  I had a burning desire to open my own business and knew I had the brains and work ethic to make it successful.  I miss the relationships I forged with the students and families coaching collegiate golf, but definitely don’t miss the constant travel.

Golf is and will always be my first love, I enjoy the little moments on the course and helping people that have the desire to improve themselves truly get better.

My store was actually going to be a place for my office, my photography and a place to work away from home.  I’m not a stay-at-home-to-work, type of person. I’d stay in my jammies all day if I didn’t get up and go somewhere.  It was only by accident that the mid-century furniture store happened.  I started furnishing the space with vintage pieces I loved and had found through my travels and everyone wanted to buy them.  Now, in 2 short years, we are the #3 rated store in the country for buying mid century furniture online (Buzzfeed June 2015) and we are a preferred dealer on 1stdibs.com, where dealers sell the most beautiful things on earth.

My favorite saying (lately is…) “Your worst day as a business owner is better than your best day working for someone else.”

I have 3 tattoos of my favorite words in Kanji on both wrists: Courage, Grace, Passion; without those attributes, I don’t think you can be successful in anything.

I still love to teach and give lessons regularly, but running two businesses is a lot of work.  You have to love what you do in order to make them both successful.”

Living in Newport Beach feels like home to me, I don’t think I ever want to leave.  It’s the perfect blend of beach and city life and the community really rallies around small business.  Oh – and the weather is perfect!

Visit Shelly at the Modern Vault in Newport Beach.
(www.themodernvault.com)

3

Leave a Reply

