Member Profile – Becky Henderson

7How long have you been a golf professional?

I have been a PGA class A professional since 2011 and have been working in the industry since 2007. While attending the University of Idaho and going through their Professional Golf Management program (PGM). I completed 16 months of internships at various courses. These courses included Wenatchee Country Club (Wenatchee, WA), Birdwood Golf Course (Charlottesville, VA), Desert Canyon Golf Course (Orondo, WA), and Eugene Country Club (Eugene, OR). After completing my business degree and graduating, I was offered the 3rd assistant golf professional position at Eugene Country Club.

What prompted you to join the T&CP?

I became interested in joining the T&CP for numerous reasons; education, playing opportunities, playing opportunities, networking, and promoting the game are a few of these. The LPGA is a great organization that does so much for the game of golf, and I look forward to becoming more active and involved.

What has been the most enjoyable aspect of being an LPGA member so far? Any particular events you’ve attended?

Since being in the LPGA, I have really enjoyed the networking opportunities. The ability to meet other golf professionals and share ideas/thoughts is very beneficial. I look forward to becoming more involved and take advantage of the webinars available to continue my education.

Tell us a little about your job . . .

I am currently the 1st Assistant at Eugene Country Club. I am our tournament director and assist in merchandise selection for our shop. When I am not running events, I keep busy teaching individual lessons as well as clinics. Since gaining my PGA status in 2010, I have continued my education and gained my PGA certification in Golf Operations in 2013. In 2014, I was named the Oregon PGA Chapter’s Assistant golf professional of the year and a finalist to the section award.

What do you love about being a golf professional?

The game of golf is such a rich game of tradition and history and so special to be a part of. I grew up playing numerous sports and golf is the true test both mentally and physically. No matter if you have played for 40 years or just getting into the game, there is something for everyone. Having the ability to help others to enjoy this game is what I love the most. I work with students that range in skill level and goals, and there is no better feeling than hearing after a round that a student played their best round, had a great shot, or beat all of their buddies for the first time.

What do you do when you are away from golf?

When I am not on the golf course, I am usually on the water or in the mountains. I am an avid big game hunter and travel around to different states in the fall/winter, seeing different country to fill the freezer. I have been hunting/fishing since I was 7 and have switched to bow hunting a few years ago. I have a passion for the outdoors, and I spend as much time outside as possible.

Leave a Reply

