Member Profile – Laura Witvoet

Bobby Orr 144.jpgMy husband and I moved to Palm Springs in 1988 where I was hired by Dave Evans at La Quinta Country Club as an assistant professional. Fellow LPGA member Chris Burkhart had taken a new job coaching at Washington State and they needed a female pro to take her position. Little did I know at the time what a gap that was to fill! The members and staff adored her and although they welcomed me, part of them were a little unsure what they were in for with me — this upstart from Canada! I joined the LPGA in 1988 under the direction and tutelage of Linda Vollstedt. She was my mentor for many years and very much encouraged me to join the LPGA and retain my membership.

While working at La Quinta, I was able to meet many great people and professional golfers especially while we were a rotating course for (at the time) the Bob Hope Classic.  La Quinta Country Club was home to many great players Bob Rosburg, Jimmy Powell and John Brodie to name a few. It was really John Brodie and Dave Evans who took me under their wing and encouraged me to pursue my competitive career in golf. The seasons worked out well for me I taught lessons and worked on my game during the November to May season and played the mini tours from June to October. I qualified for the LPGA Tour in 1994 and played three years before a severe back injury forced me to end my competitive playing for the time.

My father passed away, and, with a desire to be closer to my family, we moved back to Canada where I accepted a position as Director of Instruction with Wolf Creek Golf Resort. I continued to teach and play some on the Canadian Tour and gradually worked my way into the Head Golf Professional position at Wolf Creek where I remained for four years. In 2013, I was offered the General Manager role and graciously accepted and continue in that position today. As General Manager, I oversee millions of dollars in budgets, revenue and expenses in addition to overseeing a staff of well over 100 employees. I can honestly say I have relied a great deal on the education I received through the LPGA’s ongoing educational opportunities, webinars, seminars, etc. I have been a Class A member of the LPGA since 1992 and proudly claim it to be the best organization in the world. My only regret is being so far removed now from my colleagues, friends, and playing competitors, I really look forward to return visits and to catching up with old friends. I am also now a Class A Member of the PGA of Canada whereby I had to be certified in teaching and the business of golf through online learning and modules and testing, not an easy feat for someone who has been out of the classroom for a time!!

Nonetheless, I thank the LPGA for the opportunity it has given and continues to give me to advance my career in playing, teaching and coaching as well as the lifetime of memories I have to share with my students, employees and owners.

What a great game!

Leave a Reply

