Member Profile – Susan Bond

S Bond Head ShotHow did you get into golf?

I was a golfer later in my childhood, and my older brother was a PGA Professional. He used me for his clinics. I have never wanted to be anything else, since I won my first junior event. Prior to that, I wanted to be a fireman . . . didn’t everyone?!

What are some highlights/accomplishments that you have had in your career?

I was the captain of the University of Alabama golf team. I made it to the finals of Q School on my first attempt. I have won the Mass Women’s Open, the New England Women’s Open 3 times and have been a PGA member for 24 years. I am the current Vice President of the New England PGA. I have been fortunate to have received the following NEPGA Awards: Growth of the Game Award; Horton Smith: Bill Strausbaugh: and the Patriot Award.

What are some of your hobbies/interests besides golf?

First and foremost are my 2 girls Lindsey and Christina. I have run marathons to raise money for cancer foundations; Fred’s Team, Leukemia and Lymphoma, and Dana Farber, raising a combination total of over $50,000. I also love to shop and cook!

You are very involved with the NE Open and the Massachusetts Open. What is your history with these events and what would you like to see happen with them going forward?

The Massachusetts Women’s Open was started ny Anne Maria Tobin and Mary Gale, who are accomplished amateurs in our area. We did not have this type of event; they obtained sponsors and hosted the event at Jim Tobins Club Bellevue. The NEPGA took over the event for numerous years. Since 2009, I have sun the event along with Joe Carr, PGA Professional, we have had local sponsors and kept the event going. We have been challenged finding sponsors and the right timing to avoid conflicts with other events in the area for the past few years.

The New England Women’s Open was created by myself and former Executive Director of the NEPGA Eddie Carbone, this event was held at my former Club, The Weekapaug Golf Club, and my members sponsored and embraced the event. We also had the event at Shelter Harbor; Kammy Maxfeldt had hosted it at her course Birchwood and Country Club and this year Ron Philo Jr. hosted it at a Stowe Country Club. We would to have this event as an event on the Legends Tour in 2016.

What would you like to see for both amateur and professional women’s golf in the northeast?

I would like to see the current events with larger fields, and I would like to dins more sponsors who see the value in women’s golf. We can add Pro-Ams prior to the event to play with the sponsors and there guests to give professional expertise to them in exchange for their financial support.

Leave a Reply

