Yuri Barclay on coming into golf and working at the PGA Tour Superstore

YuriBarclayGrowing up in Japan, golf wasn’t a very accessible sport. Only the rich Japanese men were able to play. Little girls like me only occasionally saw double-decker driving ranges or a professional event on television. But golf wasn’t popular, especially with little girls. From the sports available to me, I chose ballet.

After a few years, I developed the proficiency to become a Prima Donna, which was the top in my company. At 17, I was accepted into The Royal Ballet School in London, England, but I was injured by a torn ACL weeks before entering the program. After three more years of chasing my dream, I realized I couldn’t perform at that level anymore and started teaching children.

Later, the booming economy in Japan allowed me to play golf. Having no experience, and after only going to the driving range a few times, I began to play golf. At first, I played so I wouldn’t embarrass myself in front of my clients, but, as I got better, my competitive spirit took over. I shot a 100, then a 90, and, before I knew it, I scored 80. Soon, golf gave me what ballet had for so many years.

By 2005, I was on my way to becoming a very good golfer, hitting 500-600 balls every day. I played all the time. The PGA Golf professional at my home club suggested I pursue a career as an LPGA teaching professional, because I had a gift for communicating with my students. I began teaching right away.

After becoming an LPGA teaching professional, I thought long and hard about the kind of teacher I wanted to be for my students. I thought about the different types of players that I would be teaching—beginners to intermediate students. Then, I thought back to the time when I first learned to play and the instructors that made the greatest impact on me. So, I decided to build fun, informational lessons that would help my students improve with each visit.

I taught at different golf courses in Georgia until 2011 when I was given the opportunity to work at the PGA Tour Superstore in Kennesaw, GA, which is a tremendous facility with all the necessities needed to help my students improve their games. Working there gives me the ability to teach year-round without any interference from weather as well as to have many repeat clients and to do group lessons.

All of these advantages that the PGA Tour Superstore had provided me allowed me to be The Teacher of the Year for 2014 and 2015, which only adds to my passion to improve my own teaching skills and to help every golfer reach their goals.

I have been teaching for 10 years now; how time flies when you’re having fun.


Be on the lookout for PGA Tour Superstore jobs near you. Coming soon! 

7 thoughts on “Yuri Barclay on coming into golf and working at the PGA Tour Superstore

  1. Best teacher I’ve EVER had, PERIOD!!! Yuri has kept my love of the game alive throughout all of my struggles when I came close to quitting the game. She’s a very special person and outstanding PGA teaching
    Pro… Thank you for putting up with me Yuri:)

    Like

  2. I’ve been a student of Yuri’s for many years now, and have improved my game by leaps and bounds. Her patience, and easy to follow instruction was a big part of my success. Congratulations Yuri for a job well done…

    Like

  3. So proud of my friend, and my teacher!!! You are awesome at what you do to say the least!! Thank you so much from teaching my daughter and me far all these years. We have a special bond now that can’t be broken. Congrats!!!!

    Like

  4. Yay! Congratulations!!! I am a older new golfer student and find Yuri’s sweet approachable personality and awesome skill set to be the perfect mix for my learning style.

    Like

Leave a Reply

