Meet Connie Cramer Caouette

Meet Connie Cramer Caouette – By Kristie Fowler & Connie Cramer Caouette

As an LPGA Member for over 30 years, Connie Cramer Caouette has worked long and hard in one of the most beautiful parts of the country, Montana! Although time has gone by like the blink of an eye, she has so many vivid memories and shares with us a few of those moments. Not only has she learned to manage two 18-hole golf facilities…. staffing, teaching, budgeting….she has also had the challenge of learning to manage the “Wildlife” as nature meets the golfing public. Ladies, please meet Connie Cramer Caouette.

While living in San Diego and working at Singing Hills CC, I joined the LPGA in 1978 at the encouragement of Bobbie Ripley Stewart, LPGA club professional at Singing Hills. This opportunity surpassed my wildest dreams as a young lady born and raised in Montana.

I later served as assistant professional at Oceanside Municipal G.C. and subsequently moved to Rancho Bernardo Inn and Country Club.

As a new member, I was supported and encouraged by many “old timers”, but Shirley Spork was always there for me as my mentor. I’m now so glad to also call her my dear friend.

I returned to my home State of Montana to take a position as Head Golf Professional, and although it seems like yesterday, I’m starting my 33rd year as Head Golf Professional at Eagle Falls Golf Club and Anaconda Hills G.C. I’m so proud to have received the Montana State Women’s Golf Association Paul Allen Award last summer for teaching and promoting women’s golf.

My husband Greg and I are approaching our 40th wedding anniversary and proud parents of daughter, Cody, and son, Cramer, who are both avid golfers as well.

I’ve had many crazy experiences in my years as a club pro. I have many “wild animals gone bad stories”, which include an attack hawk that goes after our golfers. We even have hawk tees and ball markers to remind folks to keep on their toes!  I’ve dealt with killer squirrels, and have crazy deer, badger, and bear stories sprinkled in for good measure. I’m sending a photo of a badger claw, which I keep as a memento. He terrorized our golfers until one day our superintendent was able to drive him down with the help of golfers herding the badger with their golf carts, as though in a rodeo.

Of course, we all have our goofy people stories too. I plan on writing a bestselling novel about my experiences someday. But until then, I thoroughly enjoy coordinating and teaching all of our on course programs, at schools junior golf programs, as well as my extensive duties at two 18-hole golf facilities.

Some of Connie’s accomplishments include the following….and thanks, Connie, for sharing!!

  • 2002 Western Section Professional of the Year
  • Two time State Golf Director Montana Special Olympics
  • State Golf  Director for Montana Senior Olympics
  • Co-founder of LPGA Girls Golf Great Falls since 2008
  • Adjunct faculty member teaching intro to golf for University of Great Falls for past 10 years
  • Intro to golf classes conducted at various elementary, middle school, and high schools for physical education classes
  • Attended many municipal seminars and workshops covering topics such as liability, discipline and discharge, personnel training, management, motivation, and hospitality
  • Conducts yearly junior golf summer camps using First Tee format with emphasis on safety and life skills needed in golf, and life to become successful
  • Conducts winter golf lessons at various indoor facilities every year during the winter season
  • Montana State High School Champion 1974
  • Meadowlark Country Club Champion numerous years
  • Big Sky Open Champion 1979
  • Active member of a group effort in Great Falls to establish a National Heritage Area to further recreational opportunities in Montana

If you are ever in the area and would like to contact Connie, please do so at:

Connie Cramer Caoette LPGA
Head Golf Professional
Anaconda Hills GC 406-761-8459
Eagle Falls GC 406-761-1078

4 thoughts on “Meet Connie Cramer Caouette

  1. Continued kudos to you, and so pleased to have fond memories of “your” Montana. From your deep friend. lol

    Like

  2. What a wonderful part of our USA A visit of 3-4 days. Could you have each day’s weather and locals meet give you so much variety special.its as close to heaven as The Big Sky truley gives us visitors love all times spent there thru the years

    Like

Leave a Reply

