Meet Your Officers: Connie Capanegra, SE Section Vice-President

What is your current employment?

Program Director at The First Tee of The Palm Beaches

Please share a brief golf, teaching, playing, and college bio.

I went to Lindenwood University on a golf scholarship where I also got my MBA. I regularly play in tournament events and Pro-Ams through The First Tee. I primarily teach juniors 2 to 18 years old and also adults. I am a certified SNAG instructor, Little Golf Train Conductor, TPI certified and a US Kids Golf Coach. LPGA Girls Golf Site Director. I am 2nd degree black belt in Tae Kwon Do. I introduced a junior golf program at The Benjamin Lower School and Weiss School in Palm Beach Gardens.

Other non-golf career background?

I have a Hotel Management and Hospitality degree and an MBA. I taught Spanish at The Benjamin School.

Current job title:

Program Director at The First Tee of The Palm Beaches, Broward and The Treasure Coast.

Location:

West Palm Beach, FL

Type of facility. Driving Range with a 9-hole par 3 course and a short game practice area.

Are you an employee or independent contractor for the facility? Employee, but I also teach private lessons independently.

Types of programs and services you are involved with at your facility? After school and

Saturdays Junior Programs 2 to 18 years old. Veterans and Special Needs Programs. LPGA Girls Golf Programs and high school team practice.

Best advice you have ever received in terms of your profession or life?

Never stop learning. Observe the best and learn from them. You never fail until you quit.

Worst advice you have ever received in terms of your profession or life?

Just look pretty.

Most memorable golf lesson?

With Mr. Toski. You will never get bored and you will always learn.

Have you ever told a student anything you regret?

Not yet.

Best advice you would give a new golfer learning the game?

First, learn how to have FUN. Enjoy the game!

Best advice you would give a non-competitive junior golfer’s parents?

It is more important to be a good person than a good player.

Best advice you would give a highly competitive junior golfer’s parents?

Set realistic goals, work hard. Even the world best players miss shots every round.

What do you consider an ideal job setting?

It is all about having a great team; any setting with people that support and encourage me to be better.

Favorite book you have ever read!

Running on Empty by Jonice Webb.

Hobbies/ Interests?

Sports and outdoors activities: Tae Kwon Do, beach volleyball, paddle boarding with my dog, snorkeling, reading, taking my dog to the beach and dog events.

Why did you join the LPGA T&CP?

I joined the LPGA T&CP to learn more about golf and be part of a recognized professional organization. I want to be the best teacher I can be.

One unique thing no one knows about you!

My favorite painter is Salvador Dali and I have a cat named Dali. My dog’s name is Ben Hogan.

Favorite thing about being an LPGA T&CP member?

Having an excellent network of professional friends.

One thought on “Meet Your Officers: Connie Capanegra, SE Section Vice-President

Leave a Reply

