Women in Golf Wednesday! – Kathy Bounds

wngwName

Kathy Bounds

Where you live?

Cary, North Carolina

Where do you work & what do you do?

Dona Lerner Golf Academy @ Brier Creek Country Club in Raleigh NC. I am the Co-Owner as well as the LPGA Head Teaching Professional. We pride ourselves in empowering our students to overcome challenges by holding them to the correct level of expectation. “Golf is a game and games are meant to be fun.”

How long have you been an LPGA member? 

I have been a member since 2010, receiving my LPGA T&CP Class A certification in 2013.

How was the process of becoming a member for you?

After being in the corporate world for many years I wanted to get back to the game that I loved so much. After a long discussion and review with Dona Lerner, we set a plan in place to start the teaching certification process. She mentored me through the process as well helping me develop as an instructor and today we own and run a very successful fun Academy. I encourage everyone who is going through the process to reach out to a LPGA mentor.

What does it mean to be an LPGA member to you?

It is a dream come true and an honor that I don’t take lightly or for granted. The game of golf has the opportunity to teach so many life skills and lessons. Being a part of this organization has given me the tools, relationships, avenues and means to be a successful teacher.

What is the best part about the membership for you?

The LPGA membership has given me the opportunity to have the sky as my office. The friends that I would have never known and relationship that strengthens my career make me feel I belong to an organization that truly cares about a game I dearly love.

What advice would you give someone just starting the program or thinking about starting?

Get a mentor as soon as possible. Locate your local LPGA professionals in your area and discuss the process face to face. The process demands time, financial commitment, dedication and travel; the mentor can guide you through these items. Take your time and enjoy the ride…..

Life does not have a remote, get up and change it yourself…..the LPGA did just that for me and today I am living a dream.

3 thoughts on “Women in Golf Wednesday! – Kathy Bounds

  1. I met a number LPGA T&C and Foundation members this past week at Solheim Cup. Each woman was dynamic with a bit of twinkle in the eye and genuine smile. Made me think that lessons would be fun and successful. I have had multiple lessons like that with Sue Powers, Teresa Zamboni and Louise Davis. Met an Illinois man at rest stop and he was thrilled with his Volik sponsorship lesson from LPGA…” got more from 25 mins lesson from LPGA Pro then years of others” , he then showed me flight pattern of a well struck five iron😊. He’s a believer

    Like

Leave a Reply

