Women in Golf Wednesday! – Ashley Malaska Moss

thumbnail

Name:  Ashley Malaska Moss

Where you live?

Mesa, Arizona

Where you work & what you do?

Director of Instruction at Mesa Country Club, Owner of Born2Golf, and Malaska Golf Instructor. I teach full-time and have spent the last year and a half developing Born2Golf and growing my own teaching

How long have you been an LPGA member? 

I have been a member since May of 2014 and received my Class A in December of 2016

How was the process of becoming a member for you?

This is how I really knew this was the right thing for me, because it was a really easy process. When I decided that I wasn’t going to pursue playing for a living, I knew I wanted to continue a career in golf. Since my father is a PGA professional, I knew that was an option, but felt as though I really didn’t want to ever be a Head Pro or work in a golf shop. As soon as I found out about the LPGA T&CP and how it focuses its curriculum on teaching and coaching, I registered immediately. I wanted to get through the program as quickly as I could so I could take advantage of all the wonderful things a Class A member gets to experience.

What does it mean to be an LPGA member to you?

It’s a huge honor! It was a goal of mine ever since I began playing golf to be a member of the LPGA, I just thought it would be through playing on the LPGA Tour. I never, in a million years, thought I would end up teaching golf, since that’s what my dad does. I am proud to say that earning my LPGA Credentials through the T&CP actually means more to me than playing on tour, because I now know it’s where I was meant to end up. I feel as though my purpose in life is to be able to connect with people through helping them with their golf game and having that LPGA credibility has helped me with that.

What is the best part about the membership for you?

In this industry, sometimes it can feel like you are alone as a female, and it’s really nice that I have been able to meet other women all over the world that are a part of the same organization and doing the same things I am. I have still kept in contact with several of the women I went through the education program with, and I love getting to share ideas on how we can continue to grow the game.

What advice would you give someone just starting the program or thinking about starting?

Go for it! Immerse yourself completely and you won’t regret it. The more you can get involved, the more opportunities that you will find present themselves. If you are looking at a career in teaching or coaching, there is no better education program to learn from and help develop your confidence as a teacher. Everyone has been so nice and helpful along the way it’s really been such an amazing thing to be a part of. Don’t be afraid to ask questions and reach out to any local LPGA members for guidance and advice.

Additional Comments:

This is such an incredible game that gives us an opportunity to connect with people from all walks of life and leave a lasting impression. I love seeing more women take up the game and getting involved at every level. I will do whatever I can to grow the game and continue to change the world… one golf swing at a time!

One thought on “Women in Golf Wednesday! – Ashley Malaska Moss

Leave a Reply

