Women in Golf Wednesday!

jamie taylorName: Jamie Taylor

Where you live?

Orlando, FL

Where you work & what you do?

LPGA Foundation, Event Coordinator

How long have you been an LPGA member?

Since 2011

How was the process of becoming a member for you?

It was great! I was a head pro for the Cleveland Metroparks in Cleveland, OH and was blessed to have my certification paid for as part of my job benefits. I was the first female golf professional to work for them, so I educated them and my male counterparts on the process as well. I’m glad that I took my time and did each level over a one-year period because it really allowed me to mature in how I taught.

What does it mean to be an LPGA member to you?

Being a member of the LPGA is special because I get to do what I love and have done since the age of 7 every day. This membership is such a unique certification and has opened doors for me that I could not have been able to do with my MBA. I’ve also met other women who share my passion and are doing amazing things in this industry. Since coming to work for the Foundation, my eyes have been open to so many opportunities that other members are doing and that is why I joined the LPGA T&CP family.

What is the best part about the membership for you?

The best part of the membership is being able to represent a group of women that are doing their passion and breaking barriers. I meet at least one person every week, who tells me they have never met a female golf pro before. To be the first contact someone has with a certified pro makes my membership even more valuable. I feel like I get to break stereotypes without really doing a lot.

What advice would you give someone just starting the program or thinking about starting?

I would advise a newbie to find their niche. A lot of people think they must go the traditional route and be an assistant pro, then head pro. But our options in this industry are limitless. In fact, if I started all over again, I think I would consider being a contractor for a least the first year or two of my career, so that I could really figure out my passion. Fortunately for me, I broke away from what I thought was the best route and chose to do work that gives instant gratification every day!

Words of Wisdom:

As a former site director and current member of the LPGA Foundation, I am compelled to encourage members new and seasoned to get involved with the LPGA*USGA Girls Golf program. This is our program and its focus is to purely get more females into the game. Who doesn’t want that??? So, volunteer, donate, or darnit run a site!

4 thoughts on “Women in Golf Wednesday!

  1. Jamie,

    Keep reaching towards the achieving the high goals you have set. You were and are a fantastic influence on our jr golfers when you were our Lead Instructor for the Greater Cleveland Junior Golf Scholarship Fund. Knocking down barriers for all! Keep up the great work – So proud of you!

    President
    GCJGSF

    Like

Leave a Reply

